Trying to figure out who is running for President in 2020? The list of possible 2020 Democratic contenders is very long, and we have put them together below so you can learn more about each candidate. Here are the top names so far that are being mentioned as possible challengers to Donald Trump in the next presidential election.


This list is in alphabetical order and will be updated as candidates advance their way through the process to launch fully declared campaigns.

Declared Major Candidates

Declared candidates have taken steps to form an official campaign and formally announce that they are running for President in 2020.

Julian Castro
Former U.S. Secretary of Housing and Urban Development from Texas

John Delaney
U.S. Representative from Maryland since 2013

Richard Ojeda
West Virginia State Senator since 2016

Formed Exploratory Committee

Candidates who have formed an exploratory committee can begin raising money and testing their support without fully forming an official campaign. These candidates may still decide not to run in 2020.

Elizabeth Warren
U.S. Senator from Massachusetts since 2013

Kirsten Gillibrand
U.S. Senator from New York since January 2009

Possible Major Candidates

There are many possible candidates who have either hinted at running or have been suggested as possible 2020 Democratic candidates. These candidates have not publicly made any formal movement toward an exploratory committee or a full campaign.

Joe Biden
Former United States Senator and Former Vice President of the United States

Cory Booker
U.S. Senator from New Jersey since 2013

Steve Bullock
Governor of Montana since 2013

Andrew Cuomo
Governor of New York since 2011

Eric Garcetti
Mayor of Los Angeles since 2013

Tim Kaine
U.S. Senator from Virginia since 2013

Kamala Harris
U.S. Senator from California since 2017

John Hickenlooper
Governor of Colorado since 2011

Terry McAuliffe
Governor of Virginia from 2014 to 2018

Amy Klobuchar
U.S. Senator from Minnesota since 2006

Mitch Landrieu
Mayor of New Orleans from 2010 to 2018

Martin O’Malley
Governor of Maryland from 2007 to 2015

Seth Moulton
U.S. Representative for Massachusetts’s 6th district since 2015

Chris Murphy
U.S. Senator from Connecticut since 2013

Jay Inslee
Governor of Washington since 2013

Beto O’Rourke
U.S. Representative for the 16th district of Texas since 2013

Bernie Sanders
U.S. Senator from Vermont since 2007

Tulsi Gabbard
U.S. Representative for the 2nd district of Hawaii since 2013

This list is updated regularly. See a name not listed that you think is running? Get in touch.

Subscribe Via Email

Sign up for instant election alerts and the latest content delivered to your inbox:

Sponsored Links