Who’s Running in 2012?

Trying to figure out who is running for President in 2012? Well you’ve come to the right place. Below is a breakdown of Republican contenders looking to unseat President Obama. These are in no particular order.

Officially Declared*:

Gary Johnson Now running as a Libertarian
Former New Mexico Governor
Official Website
Ron Paul US Representative from Texas’ 14th District
Official WebsiteRon Paul 2012 Store
Mitt Romney Former Massachusetts Governor
Official WebsiteMitt Romney 2012 Store

Dropped Out:

Michele Bachmann US Representative from Minnesota’s 6th District
Official WebsiteMichele Bachmann 2012 Store
Herman Cain Businessman, Talk radio host
Official WebsiteHerman Cain 2012 Store
Newt Gingrich Former US House Speaker & Representative
Official WebsiteNewt Gingrich 2012 Store
Jon Huntsman Former Ambassador to China, Former Utah Governor
Official Website
Thaddeus McCotter U.S Representative from Michigan’s 11th District
Official Website
Tim Pawlenty Former Minnesota Governor
Official WebsiteTim Pawlenty 2012 Store
Rick Perry Texas Governor
Official WebsiteRick Perry 2012 Store
Rick Santorum Former Pennsylvania Senator
Official Website

Not Running:

John Thune, US Senator from South Dakota
Sarah Palin, Former Alaska Governor
Mike Pence, US Representative from Indiana’s 6th District
Chris Christie, New Jersey Governor
Bobby Jindal, Louisiana Governor
Bob McDonnell, Virginia Governor
Haley Barbour, Mississippi Governor
John Cornyn, US Senator from Texas
Mitch Daniels, Indiana Governor
Jim DeMint, US Senator from South Carolina
Mike Huckabee, Former Arkansas Governor
Marco Rubio, US Senator from Florida
George Pataki, Former New York Governor

This page will be kept updated as announcements are made.

*Only major candidates who qualify to appear in debates are listed. For a full list, including perennial candidates, see here.