2014 Senate Seats

There are 36 US Senate seats up for election in the 2014 midterms. Of those seats, 15 are held by Republicans and 21 are held by Democrats. The primary dates are listed below. The General Election for these seats is on Tuesday, November 4, 2014.

More information will be added soon regarding primary opponents and notes on each election. If you see an error, please use the contact form and let us know!

StateIncumbentChallenger(s)Cook Rating*
AKMark Begich (D)Daniel S. Sullivan (R)Toss Up
ALJeff Sessions (R)UnopposedSolid R
ARMark Pryor (D)Tom Cotton (R)Toss Up
COMark Udall (D)Cory Gardner (R)Toss Up
DEChris Coons (D)Kevin Wade (R)Solid D
GAOpen Seat
Saxby Chambliss (R)
Michelle Nunn (D)
David Perdue (R)
Toss Up
HIBrian Schatz (D)Campbell Cavasso (R)
Michael Kokoski (L)
Solid D
IAOpen Seat
Tom Harkin (D)
Bruce Braley (D)
Joni Ernst (R)
Toss Up
IDJim Risch (R)Nels Mitchell (D)Solid R
ILDick Durbin (D)Jim Oberweis (R)Solid D
KSPat Roberts (R)Chad Taylor (D)Likely R
KYMitch McConnell (R)Alison Lundergan Grimes (D)Toss Up
LAMary Landrieu (D)Mary Landrieu (D)
Bill Cassidy (R)
Paul Hollis (R)
Rob Maness (R)
Brannon McMorris (L)

Under Louisiana's jungle primary system, all candidates will appear on the same ballot, regardless of party. If no candidate receives 50 percent plus one vote during the primary election, a runoff election will be held on December 6, 2014 between the top two candidates in the primary.
Toss Up
MAEd Markey (D)Brian J. Herr (R)
Solid D
MESusan Collins (R)Shenna Bellows (D)Solid R
MIOpen Seat
Carl Levin (D)
Gary Peters (D)
Terri Lynn Land (R)
Toss Up
MNAl Franken (D)Mike McFadden (R)
Kevin Terrell (Independence Party)
Heather Johnson (L)
Likely D
MSThad Cochran (R)Travis Childers (D)Likely R
MTJohn Walsh (D) - Appointed to fill out the term of retiring Senator Max Baucus (D)Steve Daines (R)
Amanda Curtis (D)

Note: John Walsh was replaced on the ballot by Montana Democrats at a convention due to a plagiarism scandal. Walsh will finish out to the term until November's election.
Likely R
NCKay Hagan (D)Thom Tillis (R)
Sean Haugh (L)
Toss Up
NEOpen Seat
Mike Johanns (R)
Ben Sasse (R)
David Domina (D)
Solid R
NHJeanne Shaheen (D)Scott Brown (R)
Lean D
NJCory Booker (D)Jeff Bell (R)Solid D
NMTom Udall (D)Allen Weh (R)Solid D
OKJim Inhofe (R)Matt Silverstein (D)Solid R
OK2Open Seat
Tom Coburn (R)
James Lankford (R)
Constance N. Johnson (D)
Solid R
ORJeff Merkley (D)Monica Wehby (R)
Karl King (I)
Solid D
RIJack Reed (D)Mark Zaccaria (R)Solid D
SCLindsey Graham (R)Brad Hutto (D)Solid R
SC2Tim Scott (R)Joyce Dickerson (D)
Solid R
SDOpen Seat
Tim Johnson (D)
Rick Weiland (D)
Mike Rounds (R)
Likely R
TNLamar Alexander (R)Gordon Ball (D)Solid R
TXJohn Cornyn (R)David Alameel (D)Solid R
VAMark Warner (D)Ed Gillespie (R)Likely D
WVOpen Seat
Jay Rockefeller (D)
Natalie Tennant (D)
Shelley Moore Capito (R)
Lean R
WYMike Enzi (R)Mike Enzi (R)
Charlie Hardy (D)
Solid R

Last update: 8/28/2014
*Cook Rating updated: 8/22/14