No rest for the debate weary candidates wrapping up November. CNN is broadcasting a debate tonight at 8pm ET from Constitution Hall in Washington, DC. The debate is sponsored by CNN, The Heritage Foundation and the American Enterprise Institute. The eight usual GOP candidates will be participating.


Full Video: Watch the CNN National Security Debate

Air Time: Tuesday, November 22, 2011 at 8pm ET on CNN

Participants: Bachmann, Cain, Gingrich, Huntsman, Paul, Perry, Romney, Santorum

Details from CNN:

CNN lead political anchor Wolf Blitzer will moderate a Republican presidential debate on Tuesday, Nov. 22 from 8 p.m. to 10 p.m. (ET) live from the historic DAR Constitution Hall in Washington, D.C. The debate, in partnership with The Heritage Foundation and the American Enterprise Institute (AEI), will focus on three of the most critical issues candidates will encounter during the Republican presidential nomination: national security, foreign policy and the economy.

In addition to Blitzer, Foreign policy experts from AEI and The Heritage Foundation will pose questions to the candidates. The following eight presidential contenders will participate in the debate: Minnesota Rep. Michele Bachmann, businessman Herman Cain, former House Speaker Newt Gingrich, former Utah Gov. Jon Huntsman, Texas Rep. Ron Paul, Texas Gov. Rick Perry, former Massachusetts Gov. Mitt Romney and former Pennsylvania Sen. Rick Santorum.

I’ll be watching for whether Herman Cain has brushed up in the foreign policy arena since some of his answers have not been as extensive as his GOP counterparts. Another question is whether Ron Paul will be given more than 89 seconds of speaking time as he was during the CBS News GOP debate on November 12.

Add Comment | Follow us on Twitter and Facebook
Filed in: Debates Tagged in:
Nate Ashworth is the Founder and Senior Editor of Election Central. He's been blogging elections and politics for almost a decade. He started covering the 2008 Presidential Election which turned into a full-time political blog in 2012 and 2016.

Subscribe Via Email

Sign up for instant election alerts and the latest content delivered to your inbox: