2020 Primary Schedule

The 2020 Presidential primary schedule will begin to take shape in the coming months. The dates below may be subject to change as states and parties make their final decisions regarding which day to hold their primary or caucus contests. Please use our contact form if you see incorrect information and can provide a link to accurate information. This page will be updated as the calendar is finalized.

Super Tuesday 2020 is set for Tuesday, March 3, 2020. Visit our Super Tuesday page for more details.

Note: All dates are primaries unless otherwise noted as a caucus. Primaries and caucuses which are only being held by one party on that date are noted as DEMOCRAT or REPUBLICAN. The delegate counts (coming soon) represent the total delegates from that state for each respective party. Primary and caucus results will be updated regularly.

Date (2020)
Feb 3
Iowa caucusesDEMOCRAT: Closed
Feb 11
New HampshireDEMOCRAT: Mixed
Feb 22
Nevada caucusesDEMOCRAT: Closed
Feb 29
South CarolinaDEMOCRAT: Open
Mar 3
AlabamaDEMOCRAT: Open

CaliforniaDEMOCRAT: Mixed

MassachusettsDEMOCRAT: Mixed

North CarolinaDEMOCRAT: Mixed

OklahomaDEMOCRAT: Closed

TennesseeDEMOCRAT: Open


VermontDEMOCRAT: Open

VirginiaDEMOCRAT: Open
Mar 7
LouisianaDEMOCRAT: Closed
Mar 10
Hawaii caucusesREPUBLICAN: Closed


MichiganDEMOCRAT: Open

MississippiDEMOCRAT: Open

MissouriDEMOCRAT: Open

Mar 17
ArizonaDEMOCRAT: Closed

FloridaDEMOCRAT: Closed

IllinoisDEMOCRAT: Open
Apr 7
WisconsinDEMOCRAT: Open
Apr 28
ConnecticutDEMOCRAT: Closed

DelawareDEMOCRAT: Closed

MarylandDEMOCRAT: Closed

PennsylvaniaDEMOCRAT: Closed

Rhode IslandDEMOCRAT: Mixed
May 5
IndianaDEMOCRAT: Open
May 12
NebraskaREPUBLICAN: Open

West VirginiaDEMOCRAT: Mixed
May 19
ArkansasDEMOCRAT: Open

KentuckyDEMOCRAT: Closed

OregonDEMOCRAT: Closed
May 26
WashingtonREPUBLICAN: Closed
Jun 2
MontanaDEMOCRAT: Open

New JerseyDEMOCRAT: Mixed

New MexicoDEMOCRAT: Closed

South DakotaDEMOCRAT: Closed
Jun 7
Puerto RicoDEMOCRAT: Open
Jun 16
Washington, DCDEMOCRAT: Closed
No Date
Alaska Caucus (R)
No Date
Alaska Caucus (D)
No Date
American Samoa Caucus (D)
No Date
American Samoa (R Convention)
No Date
Colorado caucuses
No Date
Democrats Abroad
No Date
No Date
Guam Caucus (D)
No Date
Guam (R convention)
No Date
Hawaii Caucus (D)
No Date
Idaho Caucus (D)
No Date
Kansas Caucus (D)
No Date
Kansas Caucus (R)
No Date
Maine Caucus (R)
No Date
Maine Caucus (D)
No Date
Minnesota Caucus
No Date
Nebraska Caucus (D)
No Date
Nevada Caucus (R)
No Date
New York
No Date
North Dakota Caucus (D)
No Date
North Dakota Caucus (R)
No Date
Northern Marianas Caucus (D)
No Date
Northern Marianas Caucus (R)
No Date
Puerto Rico (R)
No Date
South Carolina (R)
No Date
Utah Caucus
No Date
Virgin Islands Caucus (R)
No Date
Virgin Islands Caucus (D)
No Date
Washington Caucus (D)
No Date
Washington, DC (R Convention)
No Date
Wyoming Caucus (R)
No Date
Wyoming Caucus (D)


All Democratic primary/caucus delegates are proportionally allocated. Republican primaries/caucuses are listed as Proportional (P), Winner-Take-All (WTA), or Winner-Take-Most (WTM).

Proportional – Delegates are awarded based on the percentage of the vote received by candidates, or some formulation of dividing up the delegates
Winner Take All – All delegates are given to the winner of the contest
Winner Take Most – Some delegates are reserved for the winner, some may be divided proportionally
Unbound – Delegates are not bound to a specific candidate and can support any candidate of their choosing, varies by the state party organization


Open – Voters may vote in either party primary but can choose only one
Closed – Only voters registered in their respective party may vote in the party primary
Mixed – A semi-open or a semi-closed environment, unaffiliated voters can choose to vote in either primary or can switch registration the day of voting

If you find any errors or omissions, please use the contact page or tweet me: @PresElectNews

Partial Source: Frontloading HQ, and others

2020 Democratic Debate Schedule
Who’s Running For President In 2020?