Yes, that’s correct, the next 2016 Republican Primary debate is happening next week on Tuesday, November 10. This debate is being hosted by the Fox Business Network, the sister channel of Fox News which focuses exclusively on business news and is a direct rival to CNBC. As a result of the criticism CNBC received for the way they handled the last debate, Fox Business Network is now running TV commercials touting how they will offer a “real debate” on economic topics.


Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Fox Business Network Republican Debate

9pm ET (8pm CT, 6pm PT) – Main Debate
6pm ET (5pm CT, 3pm PT) – Undercard Debate

Moderators: Neil Cavuto, Maria Bartiromo, and Gerard Baker

Candidates: Candidates who score 2.5 percent or higher in an average of the four most recent national polls conducted through Nov. 4 will be invited to the main debate stage, the rest on the undercard stage

Report from CNN:

Fox Business is calling out rival CNBC’s debate shortcomings while promoting its own chance to question the Republican field of candidates.

“CNBC never asked the real questions, never covered the real issues,” a Fox narrator says in a commercial. “That’s why on November 10 the real debate about our economy and our future is only on Fox Business Network.”

The commercial started running on Thursday night, one day after CNBC’s debate. It’s a shot at Fox Business’ rival with Fox taking advantage of the widespread criticism of its competitor’s performance.

Fox’s jabs at CNBC started in the opening minutes of Wednesday’s debate, and afterward one of the Fox moderators, Neil Cavuto, asked fans on Twitter to retweet him if they thought Fox would have a stronger debate.

The implicit message was “we’ll do it better,” and now that has become explicit.

Some of the anchors on Fox News and Fox Business have adopted a similar message in their verbal reminders about November 10: Fox, they say, will provide a “real debate” about economic matters.

Fox has already indicated that its debate would be different, giving the candidates more time to explain themselves and reply to criticism from other candidates. During the CNBC debate, frustrated candidates and moderators were sometimes talking over each other as candidates tried to speak and the moderators tried to move on to the next question.

The irony in this is that the Fox News Channel took a lot of criticism for the first Republican debate where moderators once again took up a disproportionate amount of time and became argumentative with candidates. I think the correct way to approach this is to make sure that at the end of the debate, nobody remembers the moderators, they only remember hearing from the candidates. That should be the goal of a debate, to let the candidates do most of the speaking.

By Thursday we should have the official candidate list for the primetime debate and the undercard debate coming up next Tuesday.

Add Comment | Follow us on Twitter

Subscribe Via Email

Sign up for instant election alerts and the latest content delivered to your inbox: